Do I need more than basic auto insurance in North Carolina

When driving a car in North Carolina, you need to carry at least basic auto insurance. The mandated amount required by the state is 30/60/25 in liability auto insurance. You need to carry $30,000 bodily injury insurance for each person in an accident with a maximum of $60,000 per accident and $25,000 in property damage. At Brevard Insurance Agency, Inc in Brevard, NC, we make it our business to get to know you so we can better help you decide if basic auto insurance is right for you. 

If you have a car loan or are leasing, you are required to carry additional insurance, but if neither of these is the case, is basic liability coverage enough for you? To answer this question, there are some questions you need to ask yourself. 

  • Do you have any assets?
  • Do you need your vehicle to get to work, or is it necessary to daily life?
  • Could you afford to pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it damaged or stolen? 

If you answered yes to questions one and two and no to question three, then basic auto insurance is not right for you. You likely need additional liability coverage as well as collision and comprehensive coverage. The liability coverage protects your assets and collision and comprehensive protect your vehicle. 

Collision covers repairs to your vehicle in the event you are deemed totally or partially to blame in an accident. It will pay to repair or replace the vehicle up to the listed value minus a deductible. Comprehensive coverage includes non-collision damage and theft. It also provides weather and glass repairs. 

When you rely on your vehicle, it is important to have the right auto insurance. At Brevard Insurance Agency, Inc in Brevard, NC, we are here to help you to find the perfect policy for your needs. Give us a call or stop by our office for a no-obligation quote.